Unsere Website gibt es auch auf Deutsch - w├╝rden Sie gerne zu dieser Version wechseln?Zu Deutsch wechseln

Working with Room Groups

What is a "Room Group" and who can see it?

Room groups* serve to sort and structure the individual rooms. For the users it should be clear at first sight which rooms are to be found in the group by the chosen name. Room groups are represented in the room list by folders.

All room groups are visible by default for each user with the role Admin or Member - those who can create rooms or room groups. The reason: All employees in a company should be given the same structure so that they can see what topics already exist and there is no redundancy when creating. The room groups are not displayed for external users (roles: Guest and External).

*Note: A room group only serves the purpose of grouping different rooms together. If you want to "work", you can only do so within the individual rooms.

Creating a room group

A new room group can be created using the "plus" icon in the sidebar - at the top next to the organisation's logo/name or next to the room list. Clicking on the "New Room Group..." button opens a text input field in which you can enter the name of the new room group. By pressing the Enter key, you will save the entry and create the room group. If you decide that you don't want to create the room group at this point, you can simply click on another location. This will cancel the process of creating the room group.

Create a new room group
Create a new room group using the "Plus" Icon

Changing the settings of room groups

By moving the mouse pointer over a room group, a "More" button (symbol: "Three dots") appears on the right-hand side, which can be used to rename or delete a room group. By deleting a room group, you will not lose any rooms, only the sorting will be cancelled. In addition, the "More" button can be used to create new rooms directly within a room group.

All empty room groups, i. e. those that only include rooms that you do not belong to, can be hidden for you. To do so, use the "More" button (symbol: "Three dots", visible by mouseover) to the right of any room group and the option "Hide empty room groups". With the option "Show empty room groups" they become visible again. This options are only displayed to members if they have the permission to create rooms or room groups.

The editing functions can be accessed via the
The editing functions can be accessed via the "More" button (symbol: "Three dots")

By clicking on the "folder" symbol of the room group, you can assign a colour to it. There are 9 different colours to choose from, which can also be assigned several times. The colour of the room group will be adopted by the rooms in it.

Hide / show rooms of a room group

Each user can decide for himself whether the rooms within a room group are visible at first glance or not. By clicking on the "arrow" symbol to the right of the name of the room group (symbol: "Folder"), the individual rooms (symbol: "Circle") can be hidden / displayed. If the rooms are hidden, the arrow points to the left, if they are displayed, the arrow goes down.

Hide (left arrow) / show (down arrow) rooms of a room group
Hide (left arrow) / show (down arrow) rooms of a room group

Opportunities for action for admins

In the organizational Settings within the Permissions tab, you can define "who" (or which role may create and edit room groups.

Organization Settings: Create/edit room groups
Organization Settings: Create/edit room groups
Was this article helpful?
This site uses cookies to give you the best possible experience. By surfing on our site, you agree to the use of cookies. Learn more
OK