Users of an organization can be removed from an organization or deactivated (for a certain period of time) centrally and easily within the organization settings. They then no longer have any access to the organization and its rooms. The data of the organization remains the same.
Alternative: To give a user more or less rights, change their user role.
: Only admins of the organization can deactivate / remove users from it (see: Options for admins
). The deletion of a user account, however, can only be performed by the user themself (see: Deleting an account
What is the difference between removing and deactivating?
Remove a user if they are no longer part of the organization and are not expected to return (for example, they have quit or changed jobs).
Tip: As soon as a dismissal is determined, it is recommended to revoke the user's right to delete entries (see: Right groups within rooms
Deactivate a user e. g. if they
- are on parental leave,
- are on sabbatical,
- were invited as a Guest / External to work on a project and the project is paused.
What happens after removing / deactivating?
If a user is deactivated / removed from an organization, all content created by this person (e.g. tasks) including assignments will remain. However, the name of the person will only be displayed crossed out in the room (e.g. in the comment area).
Removed users are automatically removed from all rooms. Thus, they are no longer included in the membership management of the organization and the room(s).
Deactivated users remain a part of the organization and the rooms. However, they do not have any access to the contents of the organization and its rooms during the pause. Deactivated users are marked with a gray "D" in their profile.
Deactivated users are marked with a "D"
Tip: For users with the role Guest, a certain period of time can be defined in the organization settings, during which they will be deactivated automatically in case of inactivity (see: Options for admins).
By removing or deactivating a user, the license will be available again. Within the Enterprise plan
, the user may need to be deactivated in all
organizations in order to free the license.
If a user deletes his account (see: Delete user account), his name will no longer be stored in the communication stream. The user will be described as a "UNKNOWN user" instead. All assignments will be removed and must be made again.
User with a deleted account within the communication stream
User management / Procedure
To remove or deactivate a user, open the "Organization Settings" and switch to the tab Members. Now, click on the more button (symbol: three dots) next to the required user to remove (select: "Remove") or deactivate (select: "Deactivate") them.
Remove / Deactivate a user within the organization settings
- Before removing / deactivating a user, check all rooms to make sure they have an active room admin without that user. If that is not the case, assign the role Admin to another active user.
- If necessary, you can assign all tasks or appointments assigned to the removed / deactivated person to another active user. By using the filter function and the option "Assigned / Member", the respective tasks and/or events can be found and displayed quickly.
What happens when a removed user is added back to the organization?
If a user needs to be added back to the organization after they have been removed (has returned to their job, for example), they will need to be invited back to all rooms again.
If the user still has the same user account as before (the same email address), all old content can be assigned to them again.
Note: However, if the user account has been deleted, the ID will change. Thus, even if the same email address is used, the old data of the organization can no longer be assigned to the user.
If a deactivated user still owns the same user account as before and is reactivated (=undo of deactivation), all previous functions are available to them again. The access to all old rooms remains, so the user does not have to be added to them again.
Options for admins
Only admins of the organization can deactivate or remove users from it.
Within the section "Adding new persons" in the tab Permissions in the "Organization Settings", you can define after which period of time inactive users with the role Guest shoud be deactivated automatically. By default, it is set to "Never".
Deactivate inactive users automatically
A reactivation, regardless of the settings (manual or automatic deactivation), can only be performed manually by an admin of the organization (for the Enterprise plan "sub-organization").