What is a "Room" and what are the different room types?
Exemplarily room of a marketing team
All activities at Stackfield take place in distinct work areas. This means, that every action as well as every information on a specific topic (e.g. a project or a department) is accessible at one central place. Only the members of the room have access to it. You are able to choose between three different room room types – each being represented by a circle symbol: Closed Rooms (symbol: filled circle), Global Rooms (symbol: circular ring) and Project Rooms (symbol: colored circle, depending on the status).
- The members of a room are always able to see each other (regardless of their role).
- Only room members can see a Room displayed in the sidebar.
- Each user only finds the content to which he or she has access in the Global Search. Access is provided to a person who is a member of the Room with the respective permissions.
- Standard editing rights as well as individual editing rights for the content of the room can be assigned.
- Encryption can be specified by the organization settings or selected when creating the room.
- Rooms can be created from templates.
- The room admin can archive/delete/move the room and change all room settings.
- The room can be equipped with integrations and individual modules that are interconnected.
- Users of the organization can be added/removed manually using the Room Settings.
|Only those users can join that have been invited explicitly
|All members* of an organization can join on their own (p.r.n. a confirmation of participation or a transfer of the room password will be necessary)
|Room name + description are visible to all members* of the organization as the global search is used
|There is a project overview showing start and end date + a graphical representation of the progress
See also: Room Settings -> General.
*Note Global Room: Members of the organization within this context include all users with the role Admin or Member. To offer further security barriers, the creator can make a confirmation of participation by the hands of the room admin an obligatory. If the Global Room is encrypted, the room password must be transmitted as well, which in turn might require an activation. Guests and External Users cannot find out about the existence of Global Rooms by using the global search, though they can be added by the room admin manually.
How do I create a room?
Note: The possibility to create a new Room may not be available/restricted to you due to your assigned role! (see also: Organization Settings
A Room can be added by clicking on the "Plus" icon (e.g. top right) in the sidebar and "New room...". If you want, you can move the room to a room group later by drag and drop.
"Plus" icon for creating a new Room
If you want to add a new room directly to a Room Group, you can also create it by using the "More" button (symbol: 3 points, visible by mouse-over) for the respective room group.
Add a new room (symbol: circle) directly to a room group (symbol: folder)
Options when creating a new room
After a click on "New Room..." a dialog box opens, in which the basic settings of the room can be determined by taking just a few steps:
- step: Name*, encryption (symbol: padlock) and option to use a room template
Activate additional end-to-end encryption and use template if required
- step: Room type suitable for the intended purpose (Closed Room / Global Room / Project Room) + specific settings*
Closed Room: no further settings
Global Room: standard rights group, confirmation by admin and description
Project Room: start project status and period
- Schritt: Features – activate/deactivate modules**
- Schritt: Access – add members*
*Note: A room admin can subsequently change the name, specific settings of a room type and modules, and add members (procedure).
What should I pay attention to when creating a room?
Some aspects cannot be changed once the Room has been created.* Thus, it is a good idea to think about the following topics beforehand:
- Encryption: What kind of data is exchanged within the room (talking about compliance with the GDPR, professional obligations and further compliance guidelines)? Are integrations / webhooks required for the automation of processes? It is recommended to exchange sensitive data in an encrypted room. Integrations / webhooks are only available in unencrypted rooms.
- Templates: Are there recurring structures where a template would make sense?
- Room type: What is the work space for and what is needed for this purpose?
Password Management: For encrypted rooms, keep the room password (it can be found in the Room Settings -> General tab -> Display) secure and accessible at all times, i.e. outside the encrypted room!!
Keep your room password for encrypted rooms
*Note: Only individual entries can be moved to another room.
Options for an existing room
Adding / removing users to a room
A user or team can be added / removed by a room admin using the Room Settings. The Room Settings can be accessed, for example, using the member view or the "More" button (icon: 3 dots) in the upper right corner of a room.
Member administration of the room
The Members tab shows all previous users of the room. The search allows you to quickly find people who are members of the room. This is especially useful if a large number of users are included and you need to search for a specific person. The "Remove" button next to the respective member removes the user from the room. Users can also leave the room themselves. The "Add member" button opens a list of all available users / teams of the organization, which can be added to the room with one click. The assigned right group is Contributor by default, but can be changed later.
Only users of the organization can be added to a room
Attributes of the room (e.g. name, description and color)
The attributes of a room are displayed in the Room Settings. You can call up the Room Settings using the member view / "More" button (icon: 3 dots) in the upper right corner of a room or by right-clicking the room name in the sidebar.
The tab General always includes the room name, description and the room color. For the room types Global Room and Project Room there are additional attributes. A room admin can make changes to them, whereas the other members of the room only get an insight.
The Modules tab displays the modules available in the organization - modules activated in the room are marked with a green tick - and can be edited by a room admin (procedure).
Note: Individual functions may not be available due to the settings
made in the organization!
The Integrations tab contains an overview of all e-mail participants in appointments and incoming webhooks to the room. Here, a room admin can also create new webhooks that forward information from other tools directly to Stackfield (procedure).
In the tab Right Groups, the settings for the assigned rights group can be viewed by clicking the button "Show". A room rdmin can also create new right groups and determine whether and which content (every content or only contend created by the users themselves) can be edited/deleted by certain users (procedure).
How do I achieve or delete a room? (+ further options)
By right-clicking on a room in the sidebar, a list with various options opens.
Options for rooms in the sidebar
A room admin can either irrevocably delete or archive a room that is no longer required. In addition, a room can be moved within an organization (alternatively, using drag and drop) to a (different) room group. Moving to another organization is also possible.
A user can also add an important room to his or her favorites in the sidebar (only for himself or herself!) and/or mute an unimportant room in the notifications (desktop / mobile app / e-mail).
Courses of action for organization admins
Note: Settings at organizational level have priority over settings at room level!
Using the Organization Settings, an administrator in the organization can determine general settings for the entire organization. For example, on the subject of encryption, "Who" (or which role) may create rooms / must use templates and which modules and integrations are allowed.
An admin can also move a room to a (different) room group or organization and define Default Rooms to which all new members (roles: Admin and Member) of the organization are automatically added.