If a room or individual contents are no longer actively needed at work, but still should not be permanently deleted, you can archive them. If necessary, you can retrieve and restore archived content. Involved users (i.e. subscribers, creators and assigned persons / members) are informed about these activities in their notifications in My Week.
Note: Individual functions / modules may not be available / renamed due to settings of the organization, the room and / or your assigned right group (see: Options for admins
To archive an entry right-click on the entry in the overview of the respective module (e.g. archiving a task in the tasks module) or click on the "More" button in the upper right corner in the opened entry.
Tip: Select multiple entries in the overview of the module by pressing the control key (Windows/Mac) or the shift key and archive them all at once (see: Working with multiple elements
Possibility 1: Archiving an entry (here: task) in the overview
Possibility 2: Archiving an entry (here: task) in the opened state via "More" button
Alternatively you can also archive an entry in the activity stream in the module Communication by right-clicking on the entry or by clicking on the "More" button (symbol: "Three dots"), which is visible by mouse-over.
If an element is archived, all attachments, such as comments and files, are also archived. The attached files can therefore no longer be found in the files module. Comments can only be archived with the corresponding element, as otherwise the context will be lost. However, the content of the comments can be edited / deleted, if allowed.
Within the last activities and within the communication module, all archivings are always documented, i.e. which entries were archived by whom and when.
Archivings are documented in the history
Retrieving and restoring archived entries
Archived entries can be retrieved by using the Reports-function and selecting the option Archived Items.
An overview of all your accessible items (e.g. tasks and discussions) will now open in the workspace. By using the search function you can quickly find an entry. Through the filter options in the upper right corner, you can limit the display of the results to certain users and/or modules.
Overview "Archived entries", or "Archived tasks" (activated filter)
By clicking on the required entry, it can be viewed and, if necessary, restored by clicking the Restore button.
Retrieving / restoring an archived entry
A room can be archived in the sidebar by right-clicking on the room name or in the room itself by clicking on the room name / the "More" button (symbol: "Three dots") in the navigation bar. Only room admins can archive rooms. There is also a query with a reference to the archive as a storage location.
Possibility 1: Archiving a room by right-clicking on the room in the room list
Possibility 2: Archiving a room via "More" button in the room
Retrieving and restoring archived rooms
Archived rooms can be accessed at any time in the room list of the sidebar by clicking the "down arrow" button and selecting the Archived Rooms option.
Retrieving archived rooms
In the workspace a view of all archived rooms accessible (keyword: Member of the room) to you will open then (including date and time of the last activity). To find a particular archived room, use the integrated "search" function and click on the room name to access it. The contents of a room are only visible if you have the right to view them (keyword: Assigned right group "View").
Overview archived rooms
The room can be restored with the button Re-open. However, only room admins have permission to restore the room.
Restoring an archived room
To delete a room it does not have to be reactivated first, but can already be deleted in the archive.
Options for admins
On organizational level
The availability of the archive may be restricted depending on the user role within the organization. The archive is only available for the roles Admin and Member. For the other two roles Guest and External the archive is not accessible.
On room level
Only a room admin has access to the room settings and can therefore archive and restore the entire room.
In the archive you will only see rooms in which you are a member.
In addition, a right group for editing content can be used to determine who can view, archive and restore which contents. The archiving and restoring of entries is displayed with the option Delete, because the content is removed from the current room and moved to the archive or retrieved from it. The option Display controls the visibility of the content both in the room and in the archive.
When creating a new right group in the room, the "Delete" option covers archiving and restoring