The permissions within a room are assigned to the members of the room by means of right groups. In the "Room Settings", an administrator can specify and assign the right groups, whereas the other room participants can only view the settings.
Default Right Groups
Standard right groups in the room
The following right groups are available in a room by default and cannot be changed: Room Admin, Contributor, Reader, and Manualy Shared. A room admin manages all settings and users in the respective room. A contributor can add content to the room, read all content, and delete his or her own content. New room participants (exception: Externals) automatically receive the rights set for the Contributor group. As the name implies, a reader can only read the content of the room and cannot make any changes. In the "Manualy Shared" right group (-> for Externals), the rights in the room are restricted to commenting on and reading shared items.
The exact characteristics of each right group can be viewed in the Rights Groups tab and by clicking the View button.
Individual Right Groups
Creating an individual right group
You can create / edit a right group (e.g. for customers) in the room settings under the tab Right Groups. Within this tab there is the button "Add Right Group", which can be used to create an individual right group. Previously created right groups can be viewed and modified by clicking the Edit button.
For each individual right group, you can define detailed settings for the individual modules (display, update*, add and delete**). Each module can be deactivated or activated for a right group. Additionally, it is possible to hide contents / status from modules or to assign reading and writing rights.
Note: The settings defined for the module apply equally to the attachments (e.g. time tracking, files and comments) of all entries within the module.
Settings for an individual right group
Another function is available for the tasks module: The feature Workflows can be used to define that a certain right group must edit tasks with a certain status or assign them to certain users after the task has been edited***. The option Final Status (= no status is defined for "Next allowed State") implies that you can not do further status changes.
Workflow management for status
Notes: *Update means that the user can edit the already created content, i.e. change it afterwards. **To be able to move an element, the right Delete is required, because the element disappears from the current room in this case. ***By changing the status (editing status) the editing is finished.
Assigning Right Groups
The assignment of rights can be done in the tab Members either for teams or individual users. By clicking on "Change Right Group" all available right groups are available for selection. Each person can be assigned several right groups (e.g. Admin and Contributor). If there are several right groups, the rights will be "added together", i.e. adding a right group won't remove any rights, but only give more.
Assignment of rights
Along with the assignment of rights to individual participants, the right groups of teams can also be changed. All members of a team are given the same rights. If a user that is part of the team is to receive further or different rights, this can be applied to the room again separately / apart from the team rights. In this way, an individual user can be assigned his or her own rights group.